About National Safety Council

The National Safety Council, set up by the Ministry of Labour & Employment, Govt. of India on 4th march, 1966 is an independent, non-commercial, non-profit making, nonpolitical and autonomous society. It is registered as a society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860 and a Trust under the Bombay Public Trusts Act, 1950.

The management and control of the affairs of NSC are vested in a multi-partite Board of Governors. It consists of 51 members, besides the Chairman who is nominated by the Govt. of India. The Board has representations from Central Organizations of Employers and Workers. Jt. Secretary i/c Industrial Safety & Health Division or his nominee from the Ministry of Labour & Employment, Govt. of India is Ex-officio Member. Other Members are elected by the members of the Council.

Headquartered in Navi Mumbai, NSC has a wide network of over 7,200 members comprising Corporate, Individual and Life Members, with 17 State Chapters and 30 Action Centres across the country.

NSC serves as a high quality resource centre for all services on Safety, Health and Environment including a large variety of information, communication and educational material throughout the country.